Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays numerous Universities from all over the world have online courses available. This innovation has enlarged the possibilities of people who are willing to get a degree and it has put on the market a wider range of options to choose. The main advantage of this modernization is that enables people with various difficulties in taking presencial classes at university to join a course. For instance, students who reside far away from the faculty and have to spend valuable hours of the day travelling can now take classes from the confort of their houses. Similarly, it offers the possibility to people with children and with fix jobs to keep studying and to increase their knowledge. Also, students that because of financial problems had not a chance to go to university will now be able to take a course since they can spare money that otherwise would had been spent on transport, food and books. Nevertheless, this novelty has also some disadvantages. Some experts in education believe that by giving classes this way there is no guarantee that the student has understood the subject properly. Moreover, they believe that to become a professional the student needs to have contact with their professors and their peers because other way they will not be able to apply in the non-virtual world what they have learned online. In conclusion, even though this technology has some negative aspects, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Besides, since this is a recent development, there will be certaintly important improvments made.