Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, online education gradually becomes a common feature, and many tertiary institutes have already embraced this method to offer their courses. Although this trend possessed some demerits, I would argue that there are far more benefits that cannot be ignored. There are indeed several disadvantages to Internet-based learning. The first and the key drawback of studying online courses is that there is the less direct interaction between students and teachers. Whereas students can take advantages of being engaged in face-to-face conversations, seminars and group projects in traditional classrooms, those studying online courses are restricted to chatting via online platforms, hence resulting in the lack of proper supervision from teachers and peer support, also the shortage of motivation and vital skills like teamwork and communication skills for their future career. Besides, learners who take online courses might easily lose attention that leads to their procrastination because of such distracted factors as chatting online with friends via social network and manifold types of relaxation. Nevertheless, the positive effects of studying online are bound to outshine the foregoing demerits. Firstly, with the help of the advancement of technology, universities who open online classes can present their ability to catch up with the latest trend and manage proper curriculums. Secondly, the widespread use of the Internet makes it possible for learners to enrol in a course without considering about time and distance so that they are not only given the flexibility to arrange their study progress but also can revise lessons whenever they want. Most importantly, the fact that educational institutions offer Internet-based courses would provide more educational opportunities for anybody willing to study regardless of gender, age, location, ability and background. To conclude, I would like to reiterate that online courses still exist some negative impacts, but the advantages comparatively outweigh their shortcomings.