Do you agree that individuals are responsible for their own happiness or it depends on the factors of the person's life?

To a large extent individuals are responsible for their own joy and more or less it depends on the individual's mindset, but at the same time, anyone cannot completely ignore the fact that there can be several external factors as well that can play major role in deciding the mood of a somebody and how they are feeling. If somebody decides that he/she will be happy always no matter what, they start finding delight in every small events of life. They start getting amused and happy with each and everything they come across whether the thing is as small and insignificant as their child giving them a smile or a rainbow in the sky. Everything turns meaningful and source of contentment for anyone who wants to enjoy life. In the same way, if somebody is about sadistic mindset he/she cannot ever be happy. For instances, if they would get a pay rise of 20% they will rather be sad about not getting 30% rise. Apart from mindset other factors also has a role to play in one's pleasure. This could be anything from poverty, betrayal from partner, death of some near and dear one to getting divorced. If a person is hungry and poverty stricken, he/she cannot be happy even if that individual wants to. The pain and agony they go through when they lose their beloved does not allow them to be happy. When situations are not in their favour no matter how hard they try to be happy they cannot be. So in my opinion, it depends on an individual if they want to be happy by enjoying every small moments that provide them peace of mind or just want to regret and be sad about what they do not have. But yes external factors too are an indispensable part of everyone's life and we cannot ignore their significant role in deciding the state of mind of that particular person.