Some think that governments should tax unhealthy foods to encourage people to eat healthier.

Nowadays, health related diseases are increasing rapidly due to excessive consumption of unhealthy junk food. Some people believe that the government authorities should impose a higher taxable amount of the junk food, so that people can minimise its consumption. In my opinion, it will only affect the middle-class people. To begin with, increasing taxes on the unhealthy food products will restrict the lower income people from eating the junk food. The reason being poor people, who already have difficulties in supporting their basic needs such as food, shelter and clothing knows the actual value of money. Thus, such people would prefer eating home made, freshly cooked food, instead of buying expensive unhealthy food from the outside. However, this development will have no effect on the high-class people because the little bit increase in the tax is, almost nothing in front of their cravings towards the junk food. Creating awareness among the people about the consequences of eating unhealthily is also not the optimal solution. This is because, a majority of people who eat the fast foods are already well educated and aware. For instance, according to the World Health Organisation, most of the employees working in the IT firms are eating the fast food, not that because they are unaware of its disadvantages, but because they lack the time to prepare it. Hence, such people go with the unhealthy food choice, despite knowing its impact. Therefore, The Government should focus on creating healthy alternatives of food, which are easily accessible and affordable so that, everyone can enjoy it. To conclude, imposing taxes on the fast food items will reduce its consumption among the lower income people. However, the government authorities should create easily accessible and affordable alternatives of healthy food so that people can stay fit and healthy.