Some think that governments should tax unhealthy foods to encourage people to eat healthier.

Our eating habits will determine our health in a long run, Consumption of fast foods and carbonated drinks are on the rise for the past couple of decades, which are considered as unhealthy foodstuff. There is section of society, who thinks government should levy taxes on such foods so that people are encouraged to eat healthier and I fully endorse this idea. There are multifarious fast food chains which are selling unhealthy meal, the Government should come up with pragmatic solutions for this problem. By Imposing tax, government not only discouraging unhealthy eating, but they will also generate more revenue, although that’s not the rudimentary idea of this concept. Taxes will increase the price of a meal which will reduce the demand. People will prefer to eat home cooked food which will be much more beneficial. In our busy lives, we don’t get much time to go to a gym, or do exercise or running and on top of that we are eating a substandard meal. This all will contribute in making us sick more often. Some of us don’t have medical insurances or free Medicare, so a major portion of our income will be used to pay hefty hospital bills. By eating green and healthy stuff we mitigate the risk of getting any major issues pertaining to our health. And it will ameliorate our fitness. I think governments should impose heavy taxes on all the unhealthy products, this is the only way to stop people from unhealthy eating. More of these polices are needed, If we want to become a healthier society.