Some suggest that young people should take a job for a few years between school and university. Discuss what the advantages and disadvantages might be for people who do this.

Which one should be gained first experience or knowledge? This question has long been a source of contention. Regarding this question, some people advise that the young ought to spend a number of years -between school and college- working. This suggestion has positive and negative aspects, a few of which will be discussed in this essay. Proponents of this piece of advice believe that entering a job after finishing school will desirably render a young citizen financially independent. This belief, or positive facet of the mentioned advice, is reinforced by the fact that achieving financial independence and freedom is the primary, if not the sole, rationale behind the people’s attending schools or universities. Furthermore, jumping into the business world before going to college offers practical knowledge to young individuals, some of which cannot be obtained in an academic environment. Accordingly, not only can the young attain a wealth of experience to list on their resume, but they also will become familiar with their genuine interests and talents, according to which they can select their future field of study or career more realistically and wisely. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to postponing the educational process and taking a career instead. The first one is being detached from studies. To clarify, those who work during the aforesaid period would often receive a substantial number of perks and benefits. This could tempt them to shift their central focus to working, to the detriment of their educational progress. Another downside is that people who have come to this decision are bound to be outdone by their peers who have attended and graduated from universities in gaining higher positions or education. In summation, the upside of going on to work and skipping school includes acquiring financial autonomy and practical understanding of the real business world; nevertheless, this action has some disadvantages such as disengagement from studies and being surpassed by one's friends in educational life and achieving high rank careers.