Some suggest than young people should take a job for a few years between school and university. Discuss what the advantages and disadvantages might be for people who do this.

Some school of thoughts are of the opinion, that young school leavers should acquire gainful employments before entering into tertiary institutions. This essay will discuss the merits and the demerits of this view. One of the good sides of the above view is that, it enables the student to be financially independent from their family and guardian. Because, during the years of working they would have saved up enough funds for their university programs and projects, and so they will not necessarily depend solely on their family for funding. There are cases in Nigeria, for example, where orphans take up employments after their secondary education, to raise funds for their tertiary programs. Secondly, the student's years of working affords them the necessary exposure and experience needed in their proposed field of study. For example, someone that wants to study Building Engineering or Architecture in the Higher institution, could take up a job in a Construction industry, as this will give the person the necessary experience in their future career. However, one of the downsides of the above opinion, is that some students who are already working and earning money, may not want to go back to school due to distractions. There have been cases of students, who refused to further their education after college because they could not let go of their job because of the benefits. Also, the break in between studies could also affect their overall performances. Statistics show that young people who enters university immediately after college, performs better than those who took up gainful employment in-between.