Some students find certain subjects, such as maths and philosophy, difficult. So, some people argue that these subjects should not be compulsory for all.

It is argued by some people that students should be free to choose what they will study. They think that they should have the chance to stay away from difficult subjects such as mathematics or philosophy. I completely disagree with this opinion for the following reasons. To begin with, younger people are too focused on fun and entertainment because of their nature. If given the chance, they may not even want to go to school. So, there is no point in asking for their opinion in such cases. Their ideas may be used for designing the school or activities, but the framework must be created by adults, particularly scientists. In addition, at least a basic understanding mathematics is critical in our age. We deal with numbers in all aspects of modern life, from making investments to setting up a family budget. If we lack sufficient mathematical knowledge as adults, we may be deceived more often than usual. It may be hard to believe, but there are still people who cannot make easy calculations. This is because of skipping math lessons or failing them. Finally, philosophy may be difficult, but it teaches us to question life properly. We all need to find meaning in life. This is where philosophy steps in. It allows us to compare former beliefs with our own. In the end, we come up with a synthesis and live up to it. For example, many people have found peace in Buddhism although there was not even a single Buddhist around them. This is all thanks to philosophy. So, the earlier students learn about philosophy, the closer they will be to finding meaning in life. In conclusion, I believe that difficult lessons should be integrated into the curriculum, regardless of the opinion of the students. They will be beneficial in the long run.