Some say you should always marry for love; others say that in an uncertain world it's wiser to marry for money.

Over the past decades, a surge has been seen in divorce rate in some affluent nations. This phenomenon has sparked a heated debate on whether marriage should be a result of emotion or an acquirement of materialistic benefits like financial support and reputation. This essay is set to explore both positions, yet I would contend that love is the key whereas pure materialistic family is likely to translate to a misery. First of all, evident is the fact that most couples who get married for the first time have a yearning to stay with one' s partner in the entire life, and to conceive a baby under their names. In fact, this is a corollary of compassion - an emotion that allow one be solicitous and care about another with intimacy. Consequently, parents are then willing to lavish their time and resources to the children, as well as everything in their family, to intensify the relationship among them. However, recent interviews conducted by the Love Society showed some alternative ideology pervading in the minds of the youngsters. Indeed, sense of affection is not a crucial factor prior to their marriage; over half of the respondents argue that they would get closer eventually afterward, while 80% would be perplexed about the shortfall of economical resources might hinder the development of family on the condition that they get married to those less wealthy. This perception could be readily expound in a society that deemed incredibly materialistic. Therefore, financial support accompanied with the wealthy is not only at attraction, but also an assurance to their foreseeable future. Given the arguments from both views, I would defend the notion that love is the most pivotal element that leads to prolonged relationship, and the well-being of the members from these ensuing families can be flourished with affection.