Some say that young people are not suitable for decision-making positions in governments; others however disagree.

We all know that higher the position, greater are the responsibilities and risk associated. Decision-making positions such as Prime Minister, Defence Minister, Defence Head, Chairman of Central Bank etc. are all associated with huge responsibilities and risks. A person in one of these positions should be mature and wise enough to make important decisions. There are few people who believe that young people should not be allowed to take responsibilities of these positions, while others feel contended that age cannot be a constraining factor for such positions. In this essay, we will discuss both of these two points of view and then present a well-critiqued opinion. Firstly, many people believe that young people are aggressive, impatient and less experienced. They can make a wrong decision which can be proved fatal for everyone. For example, it is often found the young people easily get carried away and try to resolve the issue with violence. On the other hand mature person often adopt a peaceful way to solve the matter. Thus considering the implication of the decision taken at a prime position is considered that young people are not suitable for these positions. They also think that without sufficient experience and capability of handling stress, those positions can’t be served. Another point which is often prescribed by this group is that young people are sometimes driven by their emotion which is unsuitable for a responsible position. On the other hand, many others feel that young people are more energetic, have fresh thinking and idea and they can drastically improve the nation’s position. For instance, Akbar was just 12 years old when he was sworn as a king and was considered as one of the best emperors of Mughal era. The above example and qualities do lead us to establish a link between young people and the growth of a nation. Thus, young people are considered a good choice for top positions. The young owners of successful IT businesses also prove their ability to handle top positions like these. In the last 10 years, the world has witnessed many successful leaders and entrepreneurs that eliminate any doubt we have regarding the ability of young people. Following the above discussion, it is felt that younger people are quite capable of handling the responsibility associated with a top position. However, to eliminate any risk we should allow young people to nurture under the guidance of experienced people for some time.