Societies that don’t respect and honour their women can never make progress.

History has proven the fact that the societies and civilisations which haven't respected rights and safety of women have perished badly. I am strongly in accord with history here, and firmly believe that respect and safety of women are the basic foundations of a society. It is imperative that if a community is not providing equal rights to women and if women are bereft of basic freedom, there cannot be an ounce of progress in that society. To buttress my point of view, I would like to strike comparisons between two countries: India and the USA. Although the constitution of India has legislated 33% of reservation for women, even after more than 50 years of independence, India has failed to respect its women. India is struggling to change the Male chauvinist mindset of its man brethren, who still consider themselves superior to women. The staggering rate of rape cases and nuisances against women is a reflection of this mindset. With these state of affairs for women, India has a long way to go to make its society an honourable place for women. In contrast to India, USA has done a very good job in terms of respecting its women, treating them as equal. The super power status of America can be equally attributed to the women in the USA who have equally contributed to the progress of the country. Woman of this world wears many hats at the same time. They are mothers, wives, sisters and office bearers at the same time. A woman holds the noblest responsibility in the mankind of bringing the life to the earth. They nurture and develop a child into the youth and shape them into future of a nation and of the world. Women have proven themselves worthy of many accolades if given equal opportunity. For instance, in the last year's Olympic tally for India, Women won more medals than Man. It is thus apparent that to build a full blown progressive society, women plays a key role and thus must be respected in all manners. In a nutshell, men and woman must be treated equally in the eyes of the society. Respect for women should be inculcated in the blood of a society. To make this world a better place to live, awareness should be spread to treat the woman with utmost reverence. I would recommend, Nations should work together to solve each other's problems and make a resolve in upholding the esteem of women.