We have been living in the nuclear age now for over half a century. Since the first atomic bombs were developed, nuclear technology has provided governments with the ability to totally destroy the planet. Yet the technology has been put to positive use as an energy source and in certain areas of medicine.

In the past, nuclear technology was instrumental in defining the military power of a nation. It revolutionised the way wars are fought now. Nowadays, governments are doing more R& D, how to use this technology in a controlled environment to benefit power, medical, commercial and industrial sectors. This essay will analyse the merits and demerits of using nuclear technology for civilian usage. Nuclear power plants can be made using this technology which will provide a cheap source of power for developing countries where energy crisis are rising ever year. For instance, Iran is using its nuclear power plants to generate electricity. However, if safety procedures are not followed strictly in operating these power plants, it can result in leaking of radiation in the environment which can have adverse effects on the mankind and ecosystem of the region. Power plants in Russia is an example, where radiation leakage happened due to the mishandling and that caused the death of many power plant workers. Medical sciences and medical equipment are another domain where nuclear technology can be used to cure patients. For instance, Cancer, which was widely believed to be non-curable disease, can now be cured to some extent by exposing the patient to radiations on a regular basis. Again, this procedure of curing is painful and does not work all the time. Another benefit which nuclear technology can provide is in oil and gas exploration. Nuclear well logging is used t help predict the commercial viability of new or existing wells. It is also used in food processing where food is treated with ionising radiation. This food treatment if not handled with care can contaminate the food with radiation and it would be disastrous if the food reaches the market unchecked. To conclude, the above provides advantages and disadvantages associated with using nuclear technology for the civilian purpose. In my opinion, even if the nuclear technology is used in a strictly controlled environment with proper safety measures, it still posses' threat to mankind and ecosystem of our planet. We should expand our research and look into other technologies that can be an alternative to nuclear technology and is environmental friendly.