Some say that the Internet is making the world smaller by bringing people together.

With the advent of the world wide web, the world has turned into a global village where communication across the globe has become quite easy. However, I only partially agree that this has helped people communicate better because it has also led to some serious issues. If we look at the positive aspects, Internet has made communication faster as compared to what it was three decades ago. Unlike the old days, when people use to write letters and wait for replies for a very long span of time, emails have made communications instant. This to and fro messaging system has been proved advantageous for various businesses. Secondly, it also gives a feeling that, no person is far now. For instance, my sister who studies in Ireland is in regular contact with us and we do regular video chats with her. Consequently, my parents are less concerned about her well being and it also gives a feeling that she is close to us. On the contrary, this mode of communication has given rise to various social issues. Some juveniles, these days, are so much engrossed in chatting on social networking websites such as Facebook, that they are turning anti-social. They prefer interacting with unknown strangers over the Internet, rather than their loved ones around them. Additionally, a few people also get in touch with some wrong influential people and get involved in illegal activities as no sanity check or background check is done on them before they start chatting with them. In conclusion, although the internet has made it possible to communicate to a person with just a click of a button, it has given rise to various new issues which can have detrimental effects on a person's life. Hence, we should be cautious while chatting over the Internet and should investigate about unknown people before start interacting with them.