Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

In the recent times, people in many parts of the world are migrating from rural areas to cities for numerous reasons. This has not only resulted in excess population, but also caused several problems in many metropolitan cities. This essay will discuss the main cause of this problem as the pollution and suggests the suitable solution to this is to use electric vehicles and plant more trees. One of the major consequences of overpopulation in urban areas is, increased pollution levels. This is due to the significant increase of vehicles on the roads which are emitting high polluted air. Moreover, the manufacturing industries located nearby the cities had worsened the situation by emitting dangerous gases. For instance, a recent survey shows that, the air quality levels in the New York are at all time alarming levels due to pollution from vehicles. As a result, many residents are suffering with problems associated with lack of fresh air. The best way to address this problem is to plant a number of trees which will reduce the carbon dioxide levels in the air. Rather than cutting down the trees while constructing huge skyscrapers, they should be built in an Eco friendly manner. Furthermore, people should start using electric vehicles rather than gas vehicles which are environmentally friendly and will greatly bring down pollution levels. For example, the Norway government banned gas cars so people started using electric cars which have zero emissions. To sum up, the over population in cities has caused severe problems like increased pollution levels, which can be controlled with the help of both governments and the public. Planting more trees and using electric vehicles will help to improve air quality levels.