Some say that people living in high-rise apartments are lonely and unhappy, while others say that it’s advantageous to stay in high-rise apartments.

Some would argue that individuals living in high-storeys feel alone and miserable, while others say that residing in high-rise buildings has merits. While people who live in high-rise buildings have less neighbours, I believe that it is advantageous to stay in these buildings as they provide all the amenities under one roof. On the one hand, individuals living in high-rise apartments often feel alone and unhappy because they have fewer neighbours. That is to say, many people buy residential flats in these apartments to invest their money such that it can yield high financial returns in the future. Thus, they do not actually live in those apartments which reduces the number of people. As a result, people feel isolated and disconnected. To illustrate, a recent survey by the Times of India revealed that the occupancy level in high-rise buildings have reduced by 20% as people feel miserable staying alone as majority of buyers are investors. However, people can enjoy the modern facilities that these buildings provide. On the other hand, residing in high-rise buildings has merits as people have access to the state-of-art facilities at one place. In other words, these buildings offer majority of recreational activities such as swimming pool, gym and play area within their building premises which makes it convenient for people to enjoy them. Thus, they do not have to travel anywhere to enjoy these facilities. For instance, 35% of people prefer staying in high-rise apartments as they have all the modern facilities that they look for to enjoy themselves along with their family. I believe this school of thought is preferable to me because this not only saves time but also money as people have everything available within their society. In conclusion, although people who reside in modern high-rise buildings feel aloof and unhappy as there are limited number of neighbours, staying in these buildings has advantageous as it provides them the accessibility to all the latest amenities at a single place.