Some people view giving presents as an important way way to show care to family and friends, others think there are more important things that can be done to show care and appreciation.

The most viable solution to the ever-growing traffic issues in urban areas, according to some, is to minimize the citizen’s need for travel to their workplaces, shopping complexes and educational institutes. However, I completely disagree with this notion. This essay will further elicit the reasons behind my view point. First of all, work from home might sound a good idea, however; there are certain jobs which cannot be performed from family place. Doctors, engineers or any public service officials need to be present at their workplace to serve public needs. Similarly, if everyone bought only from e-commerce sites, traditional brick and mortar stores will go out of business / go bankrupt. In addition, many professional courses require classroom training and practical sessions which cannot be performed at home. Moreover, keeping citizens indoor might sound like a good idea to reduce traffic, but we should also pay attention to long term impact it can have on us. Once citizens are confined to the house, they will be reluctant to go out and in the process the social life will take a massive hit. Slowly but surely mental depression will be on the rise. For example, a recent study of adolescent teenagers shows that due to the popularity of video games they are less likely go out and make friends. In the process, they are falling prey to mental depression and the suicide rate among them is egregiously increasing. To conclude, keeping people at home is not a viable solution for traffic issues. The government should invest in public transport infrastructure and build new roads and train lines. The government should also take part in promoting car pooling and encourage citizens to travel on public transport.