Some people view giving presents as an important way to show care to family and friends, others think there are more important things that can be done to show care and appreciation.

Exchanging presents has been a longtime tradition embedded within human history. Although some believe that there are other methods to replace such practice, it is perceivable that giving gifts is still the most influential way to show one's love and care. This statement will be analysed in the following paragraphs, supported by relevant examples. Tangible presents can exist eternally and this thus can remind the giver of the gift for a long time. Although actions taken such as sharing meaningful words can be emotionally effective, they are expected to be evanescent as time elapses. Presents, however, can leave one with a solid memory of a particular person and his thoughts. In fact, as is the case with many loyal families' custom, they focus on sending out presents to their loved ones more than doing anything else so that their affinity can be remembered for generations. Practicality is another distinctive aspect that presents can offer. For example, my grandmother has been suffering from muscular pain for a long time. Although she would appreciate our effort to spend time with her to express our affection, giving her a massage machine could be more efficient. The present would not only show our care but also offer a solution to her lifetime health problem. Hence, it can be demonstrated that presents intensify one's sense of affinity by fulfilling dual purposes; showing one's love and giving what the person is in need of. This then clearly substantiate that gifts contain more meaningful terms than sharing endearment. In conclusion, the aforementioned ideas evidently encapsulate the two reasons explaining how tangible presents can the most effective way to display someone's love.