Some people view giving presents as an important way way to show care to family and friends, others think there are more important things that can be done to show care and appreciation.

Nowadays, people express their feelings and emotions by giving presents to their loved ones. Some people think that giving gifts to someone is a sweet gesture of love and care, whereas other masses believe in other ways of showing their concern. However, I opine that we do not always need money to buy gifts to exhibits our emotions. There are many alternatives to express love and care. In this essay I will discuss both view points along with my opinion with relevant examples in upcoming paragraph. To embark with, in the present materialistic world, gifts have taken a prestigious place. Due to fast life and spending more time in work, many people fail to balance work and life. As a result, commitments are maintained by giving gifts rather than meeting personally. Secondly, people can make their relationships strong by giving gifts and presents. For example, sometimes people are unable to show their feelings towards their loved ones. So, they find gifts as the best way of expressing their feelings. Moreover, communication gap between family members makes relationship strained. In a way, gifts are not only important to start a relationship but also to maintain it. On the other side, from my perspective, despite of presenting gifts there are many other ways to show our feelings for our loved ones. Firstly, care is essential for both family as well friends as compare to materialistic things like gifts. For instance, people can help their friends through care and support in their bad or worse time. Likewise children can care their parents by their affection as well as care, especially in their olg age because in this stage every parents expect support, love and care from their children. Also, by cooking delicious food and going out together, people can show their love for those person whom they truly love. In addition, it is always said that, time is the most precious gift as compare to other worldly things like presents. A lot of people in this busy and fast pace life need someone to listen their problems and empathise with them. Last but not the least, people with low income cannot afford to give costly gifts. They shower their lovr and concern with advice. In conclusion, no doubt, gifts provide happiness to both the giver as well as taker but I think that in spite of materialistic things love, affection, care, appreciation and support are priceless and even low income people can afford these cberished presents rather than luxury gifts which only give rise to evils like social status and increase gap in relations.