Some people prefer to watch serious movies while others say entertainment is the main purpose of a movie. In your opinion what factors contribute to a good movie?

Movies fascinatingly showcase diversified reflections of peoples' lives and encourage one to be part of a hypothetical world. Although it is ambiguous to define what a good movie is, it is generally accepted that a movie that can be understood and mesmerize viewers' attention contribute to establishing a praised movie. Thus, it is perceivable that a solid scenario and an outstanding acting capability by actors are pivotal qualities that popular movies possess. This statement will be analysed in the following paragraphs, supported by relevant examples. An understandable storyline that can appeal to the general public is essential to establishing a good movie. One can easily encounter incidences of leaving the cinema complaining about a movie because the story sidetracked or included obscure scenes. Movies are required to display stories that can be sympathised and agreed so that audiences are able to gain indirect life experiences. However, if scenarios are felt incomprehensible, it is then believed to have not left movie goers with any positive impression and fails to be considered a movie worth watching. A proficient acting ability by actors is another factor that contributes to making an entertaining movie. Movies need to depict stories that may happen in the world. It is therefore important for actors to portray the protagonists' emotions realistically. For example, when I was watching the movie 'gravity', Sandra Bullock's detailed facial expressions and tone of speaking made the scenes feel extremely real. Many cinematographers claim that the movie's success should be attributed to her acting skills, which  captivated audiences to visualise a life in space very vividly. In conclusion, the aforementioned ideas suggest some of aspects that help movies become successful, which can generally be applied to all types of movies.