Some people use the social media to keep up with people and events. Do you think the advantages of this technology outweighs its' disadvantages

Some people are of the opinion that the merits of using social platforms and online sites to connect to their loved ones and get updated about the current happenings in the society outweighs its demerits. In this essay, I will examine both sides of arguments and give my own opinion on the topic. One side of the argument believes that the impact of the use of platforms such as Facebook, LinkedIn, WhatsApp and much more helps generate social bonding. For example, people who have several families overseas in pursuits of happiness create a common platform on WhatsApp so as to share various aspects of their lives and challenges hoping within such a community, they would find help when need. These people in diaspora tend loss track of their roots if they do not constantly connect to their families and loved ones through the easy almost a plug and play platforms. In addition, it also helps educate the public in large scale to keep all nations abreast with the current happenings even in the remotest regions of the world through online sites. For instance, many diseases ravaging many communities are constantly being propagated and symptoms are being discussed in other countries of the world to be on the lookout and learn from. On the other hand, some others believe that is a medium to propagate selfish interest in a subtle way globally. For example, several false news is being publicized daily describing many events that never happened just because they want to promote their upcoming poor ideology. Furthermore, the platforms have served as a medium to monitor other people’s lifestyle without knowing and one example is the Facebook. Several data of a billion people are stored up in various data stores used by some agencies for tracking people without their consent. This is not encouraging having to know that your total life history is stored up somewhere by some certain powerful individual and consume it at will. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their advantages and disadvantages, but in my opinion, I would rather agree that the merits of the using these social platforms and online portals for sharing various progressive information and keeping family across the globe more closer absolutely outweighs the negatives.