Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary schools. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undeniable that language is a learned activity and people often willing to learn a new language in their life span. Therefore, some people believe that it is worthwhile for children to start learning a foreign language during their primary schooling time, instead of secondary stage. Although, this trend has both positive and negative outcomes, but, the advantages are immense as compared to its drawbacks. To begin with, there are piles of benefits if the school curriculum will include the study of foreign language at the initial stage. Because at the age of 6 to 12 children could easily develop their cognitive ability and at this time their grasping power is much higher than any other stage of life so they will be able to start understanding the basics of a new language and try to use that particular language. Moreover, learning a new language means our brain has to cope with the complexity and this will ultimately enable the children to develop their intellectual intelligence in the beginning years. Indeed, there have been some recorded instances of children in India, who have started learning French at their primary school and becomes extremely fluent when they were in the high school. Thus, it is an absolute imperative to indulge the children with the habit of learning a language of different nationalities. Conversely, the vast majority of people are against the teaching of foreign language in the primary years of their schooling. This group of people believes that school syllabus is already overloaded with heaps of different subject and meanwhile introducing one more language in the primary stage might be a strain on the students and they may feel pressurized because getting mastery in a new language is a difficult task. In addition, some children do not feel confident to be bilingual at the early stage and putting efforts in these would be worthless. For example, according to the survey of Hindustan Times, 60% of children considered themselves the unsuccessful in learning a British language due to lack of time in their former school days. Overall, these few instances make it clear hectic study schedule hinders the learners to be familiar with the new language activity. In conclusion, bilingual people have more opportunities as compared to monolingual that is why schools are putting more emphasis on teaching languages in the primary schools. Even though it has some negative consequences for the students, but the pile of the advantages of this trend could not be ignored, in fact, the benefits are quite considerable.