Some people think visitors to others countries should imitate local customs and behaviours. Some people disagree; they think the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss the two views and give your opinion

Today, with the passage of time each and every country is on the path of development, ans with this development, there is a growing trend of visiting different places in different countries. It is a highly debated issue whether tourists should behave as the people of the jost country or should the host country accpt visitors as they are. Both stuations have their own pros and cons, which I will discuss in this essay. There are many benefits of adopting the customs of the host country. Firstly, it decreases chances of misunderstanding and embarrassment. To elucidate, in the UK it is offensive to ask someone what their salary is, which is common in India. Secondly, a nations’s customs nd traditions are fascinating and offer a deeo insight into that country. People visit other countries to broaden their horizon. So, if tourists copy the customs of host country, they learn more about them and that too in an interesting way. Finally, visitors establish a rapport with local people because people feel respected when their customs are understood and imitated. The visitors become a member of the host country and so they do not suffer any culture shock. On the other hand, there are many reason why a host country should tolerate and embrace foreign culture. To begin with, no country should cling on its own customs and traditions and not accept the new customs and traditions of the hosts. To exemplify, if the visitors are pure vegetarians, they should not be forces to eat non-vegetarian food just because the host country’s people eat that. On the balance, I feel that someone who is moving to another country should respect the customs, culture, and traditions. This is necessary because a newcomer is like a guest in someone else’s home. So, he is expected to follow the rules of that country. However, it is not reasonable to compel a believer of a certain religion to ignore in order to comply with the local customs. Summing up, mutual understanding between both the visitors and the host is necessary to maintain the harmony. A cosmopolitan society in which everyone is tolerant of each other’s customs and traditions is the need of the day. After all, today, we are part of a small global village and not a big planet Earth