Some people think the money spent in developing technology for space exploration is not justified. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money.

Space exploration is a key area where many governments spend billions of dollars each year. Many people believe that the money spent by the governments in order to improve space exploration technology is unjustified because this money can be spent beneficially for other improvements. I fully agree with the idea that the amount of budget put aside for space research projects can be used to improve the lives of poor people, and reduce environmental problems. First of all, exploring space is a costly venture. Travelling to outer space requires state-of-the-art equipment and complicated devices, not to mention the education and training of astronauts. For instance, In 1973, the total cost of the Apollo program was reported to the US Congress as being $196 billion, a figure which is higher than the outcome. If the figure was used to invest in underdeveloped countries where suffer from food scarcity, lack of medicine, poor infrastructure as well educational facilities, the life standard of people would boosted. Therefore, billions of dollars required for space research programs would benefit millions of people. Another point to consider is that there is no guarantee whether a habitable planet can be found or not. However, scientists are still consistently searching for a livable planet today. Due to the uncertainty about another habitable planet, governments should prioritize to save the Earth, and address the problems which it possesses these days. For example, governments can invest a large sum of money to solve environmental problems such as air pollution, global warming, deforestation, marine pollution as well as melting glaciers instead of exploring space. Hence, policy makers should focus on the concerning issues of our planet in associated with the environment. In conclusion, space research has become a major focus of many governments over recent years. I completely, however, agree with the idea that the budget spent for it can solve the growing problems which exist in the world.