In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

With the continuous development of globalization in the world, opinions have diverged on the issue of foreign food being purchased more than the domestic one. There are several reasons leading to this situation, and some solutions should be considered to boost the revenues of homegrown food. In the recent years, people show a tendency towards food made in foreign nations due to numerous causes. The first to mention is that many people state that food grown in overseas countries probably has higher quality compared to the local one. Some think that exotically food is cultivated in advanced conditions without the use of several poisonous chemicals such as pesticides or herbicides, which may do serious harm to consumers’ health. Secondly, in the past, the source of food seems to be limited to domestically produced one; however, recently, it has become easier for consumers to enjoy imported food due to the advance in international trade. For example, some international economic organizations were formed, such as the World Trade Organization, to simplify the process of trade among different countries. Notwithstanding, some measures should be confronted to help domestic food corporations obtain their position again. The most vital action is that food manufacturing companies should ensure the origin and improve the condition of their products. Therefore, these characteristics will likely boost the outcomes of domestic food because customers tend to purchase products that have better quality assurance. Moreover, the authority may raise the tariff on imported food, thereby the decline in foreign food consumption owing to the expensive prices. Another remedy is that local manufacturers should simultaneously contribute their products to different supermarkets and offer consumers free samples or discounts to raise the public encouragement. These methods, along with the exertion of inhabitants as well as domestic firms, possibly increase the demand for indigenous food. In conclusion, this phenomenon happens because of certain reasons included the quality assurance of foreign products and the growth in international transactions. This can be handled by restricting the amount of imported food and launching sales campaigns.