More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries. Discuss some causes and effects of this problem.

Overweight among children is increasing at an alarming rate in developing countries. There are many causes of obesity and it comes with its own effects. I am going to discuss these in this essay. There has been an increase and the availability of fast foods which are always high in cholesterol and unhealthy fat. These substances promote health issues such as cardiovascular diseases that can lead to death. Research by the American Health Society shows a correlation between foods high in cholesterol and heart diseases. Additionally, there is easy access of these foods which encourages children to consume them for example, in school canteens, vending machines and restaurants. Therefore, the more fast foods consumed, the more health issues among children rises. As a result, this puts pressure on the countries' health institutions as more money from taxpayers is used to treat these diseases. Another point is that parents are living sedentary lifestyles and their children look up to them as role models hence they end up adapting to this. For example, parents who work 9 to 5 jobs hardly have time to exercise or encourage their offsprings to live an active lifestyle. Children instead spend most of their time indoors watching television or playing video games. This results in obese children and they end up lacking self confidence while growing up. A study from Canada showed that children who were considered fat were bullied in schools. In conclusion, fast foods and sedentary lifestyle causes obesity among children and this affects their overall physical and mental health and also confidence in a negative way.