Some people think the government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture.

It has been argued by many that the government should not fund art as it is a sheer waste of resources as the money can be spent on the uplift of basic necessities of life, whereas others believe that spending on such activities is necessary to keep the values of a nation alive. In my opinion, I fully agree with the former belief that the humanity takes priority and the state should stop supporting fields like culture. On the one hand, a huge amount is required for the uplift of cultural services and consumes a lot of the country's revenue. There is a strong vibe that this practice should be curbed and I also believe so. Firstly, the portion of the budget spent on the exhibitions can be used for the betterment of poor population. Secondly, the civic facilities can be improved if adequate amount is available to the rulers. Moreover, progress in the field of art has just an abstract value and don't generate any financial benefit, so it's better to invest in other sectors like the power generation, import and export, education and food supply. For instance, the same concept has been followed in true letter and spirit in many countries of the world like Thailand. On the other hand, many intellectuals believe that the nations must keep their traditions alive by promoting their inherited values. Firstly, it will keep them connected to their past. Secondly, it will strengthen the bondage among the people. Furthermore, the uniqueness of the nation is being maintained by such activities. So, in order to maintain an integrity of a nation, it's thought that the economists must make plans for the upkeep of the folk activities. For example, the Turkish government is famous for its spending on traditional framework. To conclude, I believe that in this era where poverty and other humanitarian crises are at their peak, it's obligatory for the lawmakers to give priority to such issues rather than spending on the music and fashion industry.