Computer games are very popular in all ages and nationalities. Parents think is has little educational value and it will be harmful for children. What is your opinion and give example based on your own experience.

Computer games have seen a radical rise in popularity among children. Some parents believe, such games have adverse effects on the mental growth of a their children, and provide no educational value. I concur with this argument and in this essay I will put forth of views with suitable examples. Firstly, Children nowadays spend hours playing video games, and this sometimes affects the mental health of a child. For example, a research conducted by the United Nations found that, playing video games for long stretches of time will lead to depression and mental instability among children. Moreover, video games can be very addictive and it is important for parents to keep an eye on their children's gaming habits. This addiction will affect a child's study time and ultimately it will bad grades at school. Secondly, some of the video games these days are very violent and children can easily be influenced by such games. For example, even some of the PG rated games today like "Deadline" has very graphic violence as part of their storyline. For instance, in a recent study conducted by the Institute for Children's welfare, it was found that, in sixty percentage of the mass shooting happening across schools is the US, the shooter is influenced by violent video games. This statistic is very alarming, and parents should curate the games played by their children. To conclude, I am not against children playing video games, since it provides an avenue for the children to relax, but parents should always be very careful of the games that their children are playing, since it can have a negative impact on their mental growth.