Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, others think that zoos are useful to protect rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some believe that zoos play an indispensable role in protecting endangered animals, others argue that keeping these animals in such an unnatural setting is inappropriate. From my point of view, although zoos have some drawbacks, they offer a greater number of benefits. On the one hand, critics of zoos may have their justifications. First, animals are isolated from their natural habitats and confined in a limited space. Even the artificial environments of some safari-type zoos cannot come close to matching the space, diversity, and freedom that animals enjoy in their natural habitats. In addition, these animals sometimes are kept for entertainment purposes. Captive animals suffer from physical and mental illnesses, and have shorter life expectancy in comparison with their wild counterparts, even though some may argue that the animals are not abused and that zoos raise valuable funds for research and conservation programs. But, indeed, the role of properly managed zoos in wildlife protection cannot be overlooked. First, many animals in these zoos are on the brink of extinction. This is due to the increase in illegal trading in wildlife or other threats such as habitat destruction or human encroachment into wild areas. Moreover, one of the most important functions of zoos is to promote international breeding programs. Evidently, some of the rarest species have difficulty in finding mates and breeding successfully in the wild. Therefore, by using modern medical technology, zoos can ensure survival and the genetic viability of these animals. In conclusion, although zoos may have some drawbacks such as making animals feel stress or imprisoned, they make significant contributions towards the conservation of rare species. Therefore, they should not be closed down.