Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, others think that zoos are useful to protect rare animals.

There are many zoos all over the world, giving people an opportunity to see animals they may never see in their lifetime. The views towards zoos varies, as some feel that they are cruel, and should all be shut down. On the other hand, others feel that zoos are beneficial due to animal protection of endangered species. This essay is going to discuss both views, as well as how I personally feel towards the matter. Firstly, there is a significant amount of people who feel zoos should be closed, as they argue the cruel nature towards the animals. One point of the argument for cruelty within zoos, is due to enclosures. The are several cities that have a zoo, and therefore space can be limited, which results in small enclosures. It is proven by animal researchers that small spaces create stress and strange behaviour in an animal, causing them to pace and bang on windows. On the other hand, zoos are viewed as a place to protect the animal because of their rarity. This allows zoologists to ensure that a type of animal doesn’t fade out, such as, the white rhino, also allowing the animals to breed and increase numbers. One other positive view is the flexibility for zoo keepers and researchers to study a animals behaviour and its habits, which helps expand the human knowledge. In my opinion, I feel zoos can be cruel and animals should be free. However, understandably some animals do need protection and therefore, a sanctuary should be introduced whereby the space an animal can receive, reflects how their lie would be in the wild. To conclude, this essay discussed the argument as to why zoos can be cruel, due to the limited space that some offer, creating stress as well as the benefits that a zoo can provide.