Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals.

It is true that some people believe that confining wild animals in zoos is cruel and that zoos should therefore be closed down. While I believe that cruelty to animals should be avoided at all costs, I agree with those who see a vital role for zoos in protecting wildlife. On the one hand, there is an outcry in many countries over the cruel conditions in which animals are kept in some zoos. As a result, many people argue that the public must exert pressure on governments to shut down all zoos. For example, in some zoos the animals are still kept in cages, with little room in which to move around. Critics argue correctly that the health of wild animals kept in such conditions must suffer, because they cannot exercise or follow their natural behaviour. Physically and mentally, therefore, it is cruel to maintain wild animals in such confined spaces. On the other hand, others argue that not all zoos subject wild animals to cramped conditions and, in addition, zoos perform a useful role in animal protection. Firstly, the welfare of animals in a priority for many zoos. London Zoo, for instance, houses wild animals in large, open spaces, often with trees or ponds to mimic their natural habitats. Secondly, our small planet is facing an ecological crisis. Today, there are many endangered species, because of exploitation and habitat destruction, which have left many creatures on the brink of extinction. Captive breeding programmes in zoos have saved some species, including the well-known success story of the giant panda. In conclusion, I agree that all zoos must provide spacious, natural environments for their animals. However, zoos have an important role to play in wildlife protection and survival.