In many countries the rich are becoming richer and the poor are becoming poorer. Why is this problem? What solutions are there to tackle this problem?

It has been notable that there is an obvious economic gap between citizens, in several countries. While some individuals’ fortunes grow significantly, others clearly become poorer. In my opinion the major cause of this trend is the lack of fairness. However, this issue could be mitigated by both education and regulations. To begin with, the unjust distribution of nations’ resources has affected the economic standard of their citizens. To clarify, many countries give affluent people countless benefits to improve their businesses. This has been done with indentation of enhancing the economic state of these countries. Not only do these countries facilitate governmental procedures for those wealthy people’s businesses, they also offer them a myriad of facilities. Naguib Saweras, a business tycoon in Egypt, who is counted as one of the ten most wealthy people in the world, had bought about 3000 hectares of agricultural land in upper Egypt with at the quarter of its true price. This could not happen without a legal vacuum in Egyptian law. Hence, these situation unfair give the perfect opportunity to these rich individuals to increase their fortune legally. On the other hand, two possible measures could be taken to resolve this developing/growing issue. Firstly, ensure free state education for citizens. To illustrate, Germany provides education with no tuition fees to ensure the prosperity of all its people. This could narrow the economic gap between these citizens by improving their academic qualities and enhancing their career opportunities. Secondly, strict rules should be enforced to encourage unemployed people to earn their living. Social aid, for example, helps workless people to meet their needs. Therefore, if authorities launch law to limit this aid for a 6-month period, this would possibly motivate jobless people to do their best to get a job and gain a good income. Thus, if these measures were taken, the troubles would be by no means insurmountable. To conclude, having discussed both the major cause and solutions of the standard of living gap in many countries, it seems to me that the deficiency of justice is the most culpable cause to increase this trend. However, offering free education and updating benefit regulations possibly alleviate this problem.