Some people think that wild animals should not be kept in zoos. Others believe that there are some good reasons for having zoos.

The perspective that whether animals should be housed in a zoo or not has sparked a heated debate among many. In this essay, I will shed some light on opposing sides of this viewpoint and then provide my own opinion. On the one hand, there are compelling reasons for wildlife to not be kept in zoos. First of all, wild animals are happier in their natural habitats as they can lead their lives by freely roaming around the forest, experiencing the various seasons and being around other animals. In addition, they will not feel as captives bounded by an area in a zoo. For instance, most wild animals such as lions, tigers, monkeys, et cetera seem more active and healthy in the forest as compared to the cages in zoos. Therefore, they can reap the benefits of nature by not being in confinement. On the other hand, there are some merits for having zoos. The primary benefit is that it can serve as a spectacle for human beings to see many different wild species such as birds, mammals, reptiles, fishes, et cetera all in one place. In addition, people gain immense knowledge of wildlife by observing them closely; indeed, knowledge is wealth. Moreover, wild animals will not be preyed by their predators by being in zoos. For example, animals are kept apart in a zoo so that one doesn’t feed on another, whereas a lion pride can hunt, kill and consume a zebra in a forest. Having considered a range of arguments, I firmly believe that wild species should not be held in zoos; animals should enjoy their natural habitats and not be kept as captives.