Some people think that wild animals should not be kept in zoos. Others believe that there are good reasons for having zoos.

In recent years, the idea of wildlife being kept in zoos has been extensively debated. Some believe that animals are not meant to be held captive, while others argue that zoos play an important role in wildlife preservation. This essay will discuss both views, although I agree with the former. Firstly, no complex being can thrive in captivity. Especially wild animals have complex social interactions with each other and their ecosystems and cannot adapt to man-made environments. I personally agree with this point of view because I strongly believe that animals are not objects that we can use for entertainment purposes, even if we provide some food and shelter. For instance, most animals refuse to mate in captivity because they lack the natural conditions in which they conduct their mating rituals, such as the possibility to choose from multiple partners. On the other hand, some people find zoos useful for their role in promoting awareness towards the preservation of endangered species. However, their extinction is caused by the actions of humans, such as extensive hunting, poaching, deforestation or pollution. Advances in medicine and technology have enabled people to help some species not to become extinct, but most animals that are bred in captivity cannot survive in natural conditions. A viable alternative to zoos is, for example, natural parks where we can help animals without interfering so much in their lives. In conclusion, I believe that zoos are becoming obsolete and that people should change their attitude towards wildlife and not keep animals in zoos.