Some people think that when recruiting, company should aim to take on people who are innovative and are able to work independently while others considered they should recruit people who are able to work in a team and follow instructions.

Recruiting a suitable employee is always a challenge to most companies. During the recruitment process, the company has to take into account the personality and capability of a candidate. While some people prefer to employ a collaborative instruction follower, I would argue that employing an innovative and independent person would be more suitable. A creative and independent employee is usually an effective problem solver and a challenger. In other words, they are skillful, motivated and enthusiastic in addressing any issues that occur. These employees can quickly come up with ideas and strategies, then put them into practice immediately. From my working experience, these individuals are often valued and promoted by the management. Unlike passive workers who normally respond to instructions, they seem to be a great asset to the organisation. Conversely, hiring a staff who has a strong sense of collaboration and adherence to instructions ensures fewer mistakes and greater efficiency, especially in larger organisations. These qualities are required at workplaces, for example IT distribution centres, to ensure delivery can be made at the right time and to the right place. All workers work together, follow guidelines and listen to their superiors so that there are few mistakes or conflicts, which improves efficiency. However, a self-reliant and innovative worker is definitely required in any business, be it multinational companies or sole traders. They are more productive. By taking initiative to solve problems and take risks, the administration and management of a company will be improved. Thus, their skills and abilities are undoubtedly needed in any working environment. In conclusion, I personally think that employing someone who works innovatively and independently is more desirable as they are more proactive and willing to go that extra mile to stimulate personal and workplace development, whicl cooperative staff is appreciated but are not as capable as the former candidate.