Some people think that we can use as much fresh water as we want. Others think that fresh water supply should be controlled strictly by governments as the sources are limited.

Water is the most common liquid found on earth. While most part of our planet is covered with water, fresh water that can be used for drinking, cooking and other activities is quite less. Despite the aforementioned fact, some people still give themselves the right to use fresh water in an unrestricted way. Others oppose that it is necessary for the authorities to strictly control the amount of water usage. From my perspective, I side the latter opinion; however, this essay will still discuss both points of view. Although it is certain that humanities will have enough fresh water for at least the next 100 years, but still, it is a limited resource. If people freely allow themselves to use clean water even in an extravagant way, it is obviously that they will put their next generations under a risk of having no fresh water to use. Otherwise, I agree that water resource should be accessible for every one’s needs, especially for agriculture and industries, they all need a large supply of water for producing. However, there should be a consideration in using water for any purposes. They can take simple actions to consume it more efficiently, like turning off taps whenever they are brushing or shaving, and finding opportunities to conserve water in their home. The main purpose of controlling the water usage after all is to ensure that there are no knock-on effects on our next generations and there is always available water for everybody. So, in my opinion, the government plays an important role in raising awareness and encouraging a revelation in public. They can educate their citizens of how vital is our action today can effect on the future or basically, passing water-saving ordinances. In conclusion, no one can deny the importance of water, especially fresh water in our daily lives. Individual responsibility as well as the government’s role should be considered to conserve water resource. Otherwise, water still can be accessible to everyone’s needs, but not for waste.