Being able to speak well is better than being able to write well

In contemporary society, it’s undeniable that speaking and writing are the basic of modern linguistics. However, these days, some people argue that good in speaking is considerable than good in writing. Although it seems reasonable, I strongly disagree with such notion, and I believe that splendid writing is more useful. This essay will provide further aspects and examples to support this idea. First and foremost, texts can be effectively spread information wider than speech. Either passage or word is quickly passed its meaning to people. This is because people can readily perceive information from their seeing than listening. I can attest this from my own experience when I traveled to Chiang Mai, the famous city in the north of Thailand, I got lost in the city because I was unfamiliar with this place. Additionally, I needed more information about the location to find my selected restaurant. Fortunately, there were many signages on the street, so I commuted to the restaurant by following the information words on the billboards. In this case, words on the signages effectively provide concise information. It is not only understandable for me or other people but people also can travel directly to the destination without losing anymore. Secondly, people who are excellent in writing tend to be an elaborate person than those who are speaking well. This is because writing has a more complicated structure than speech. Speaking is immediate action from human’s thought, while writing has many processes to concern such as grammar, spelling and sentence structure. To illustrate this, when I studied at Chulalongkorn University, I must write a thesis book for ending my project. The thesis book required quality of writing because all of the information should be intelligible. It needed to be summarized, then be transferred to surgical written form. Therefore, writing thesis book challenged me to be more elaborate. In conclusion, I obviously agree that professional in writing is better. This is due to the fact that people who are capable to write splendidly will be elaborate, and writing is capable to be effective information that spread wider than speaking.