Some people think that violent films and videogames have negative effects on people and should be banned. Others think that they are just relaxation sources.

It cannot be denied that movies and pastimes are great sources of amusement, however, it could be argued that there are extreme downsides. In my opinion, the disadvantages of such engagement activities outweigh the advantages. Features films and games that can be played on different electronic gadgets are a definite resource of entertainment. For Instance, it helps the children to unwind themselves after a tiring day of studies. Similarly, extreme programs broadcasted on televisions can be considered as relaxation for any age group. This can be exemplified with a recent survey from a news channel which states that people who are engaged in different recreational activities such as movies and games on computers, are more relaxed in compared to the ones who are not engaged into this. On the flipside, there are a number of compelling arguments to support the idea that this can be extremely harmful for all ages with children in particular. First and foremost, children going to school may get addicted to games and movies, and therefore may lack concentration in studies. Moreover, they may be less interested in engaging in real sports and socializing activities which are really essential for them. A final point worthy of consideration is that sitting in front of gaming consoles for hours can lead to severe health problems such as obesity, lack of sleep and suchlike. To conclude, it is evident that spending time on visual games and action movies have more harmful effects than serving as a medium of recreation. Therefore, I'm convinced that use of such mediums should be if not banned then limited.