Nowadays, parents give more freedom to their children than in the past. Is it a positive or negative development? Give your opinion and include relevant

In recent times, children are allowed more freedom than was obtainable in the past. In my view, I believe this is a positive development as this helps develop their independence and self-confidence. To begin, granting young people more liberty helps them become self-dependent. These people are able to think critically and come up with solutions without needing the assistance of anyone, thus making them independent. For instance, in a small village in Nigeria, teenage boys are free to do whatsoever they wish, and as such, these children are now totally self dependent. Furthermore, more freedom given to children will make them self-confident. Because childhood is generally seen as a period of reliance on parents, if young people are then allowed more liberty, they will learn to trust and believe in themselves, thereby increasing their self-esteem, and consequently their level of confidence in themselves. To illustrate, a recent research in 2017 by the faculty of sociology of University of London reveals that to make children have trust in themselves, more privilege ought to be given to them. In conclusion, contrary to what was seen in the time of old, parents currently give more freedom to their young ones. I consider this a good thing because of the increased level of Independence and self-confidence in children associated with this trend.