Some people think that university should not provide theoretical knowledge, but to give practical training that is beneficial to society.

Stepping into the 21st century, effective learning methods have become a topic of broad interest to the general public. While there is a widely held view that notional knowledge merits more serious considerations, it is my fervent conviction that realistic ways of teaching should be given more focus in universities. Admittedly, it is true that theoretical knowledge is of enormous significance to the well-being of the contemporary education. There is no disputing the fact that theories and principles play a pivotal part in the development of various fields, such as Mathematics, History and Physics to name but a few. It is no exaggeration to say that such knowledge serves as a bedrock for further advancement in human evolution and thus its power and importance should not be underestimated. However, I strongly believe that universities should shift more focus from on-paper knowledge to real-life practices. This is rooted in the fact that such approach can afford students realistic opportunities in the distant future when they grow up. There seems to be mounting evidence that employers have the tendency to place a premium on practical knowledge obtained from real-life situations and experience. Accordingly, over-reliance on academic knowledge would more or less catalyze a lower job prospect, which is a prerequisite for unemployment and, in some cases, delinquent behavior. Equally important is that realistic way of teaching can reignite students’ enthusiasm in theoretical subjects. A telling example is ambiguous exercises in technology that are liable to plague students can become more appealing if realistic models are applied for students to directly work with. From the preceding discussions, one can conclude that although the role of notional knowledge should not be overlooked, it is more advisable for tertiary education to integrate more realistic ways of teaching into the curriculum.