Countries becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Many people argue that the evolution of international trading can lead to the growing similarity between nations. Despite some adverse effects from this trend, I believe that this commercial advance would bring many benefits to all the world. First of all, there are some obvious drawbacks which nations need to take into consideration before opening their economic barriers. The first problem is the risk of the assimilation which threatens the cultural identity. Importing products from other countries, nations also compel with the integration of other cultures. This phenomenon can be clearly seen in the fashion domain: Nowadays, most people dress suit or follow western style instead of wearing traditional clothes as the daily costume. Another pitfall worth mentioning is that more and more involvement of foreign investors in the local market can accelerate the competitiveness which causes many inconveniences for local businesses, particularly in the developing countries. For instance, attracted by state-of-the-art products imported from other countries, residents easily turn against internal products. Many medium and small enterprises in Vietnam are victims of this issue and have to go bankrupt due to lack of competing capability. On the other hand, the globalization in the economic area creates more merits than demerits. In terms of macroeconomics, the expansion of importing and exporting helps to enlarge the market; therefore, brings more opportunities for companies to make money as well as for government to earning foreign exchange. Besides, the diversification of products and services is also a key factor which shrinks the distance in living standard between nations. For example, Vietnamese people, these days, have more chance to opt for consuming goods of which price is completely reasonable with high-quality from America or Europe. Finally, using international products is also a means of experience and acknowledge the culture and current technology of the neighbors. Indian handicrafts increasingly consumed in Vietnam is a plausible evidence for the integration and sharing traditional value between two ethics. In conclusion, certain is the fact that some inland problems associated with culture identity and capacity of local companies should be tackled in case of opening national market. However, I support the idea that this trend does not abolish traditional beauty of each nation but create more benefits for individual economies as well as for their residents.