In today’s job market, it is far more important to have practical skills than theoretical knowledge. In the future, job applicants may not need any formal qualifications.

Companies, nowadays, prefer employees with more relevant work experience than with higher educational certificates. Many people believe that in future academic qualifications are not necessary. I completely disagree to this notion, and this essay discusses some points to support my view. More and more students are now opting technical education in colleges and universities to get good theoretical knowledge in their field. It always helps them to advance in their career to higher positions, through promotions. Even though, having competitive practical knowledge boost the chances of getting job initially, promotions and career progressions always depend on a person's educational qualification. For example, during appraisals, companies assign higher management posts to staffs with post-graduation degrees or PhD. Moreover, top hierarchical positions always require good text-book knowledge along with practical skills to make quick decisions having wide impact over an organization. Some companies follow the strategy of employing workers with expertise in real life situation. But while selecting such skilled labours there will be some criteria for an educational background also, as practical experience without a theoretical knowledge will not make a person adept in what he or she is doing. For example, some states in India which are very behind in education sector, have adequate number labourers, but experts are less. This illustrates the importance of education, and there is no chance that in future, job markets will hunt for applicants without formal education. In conclusion, formal qualifications are necessary to get lucrative jobs and companies always target for workers with good balance of theoretical as well as practical experience.