Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion should be the main function of a university?

In recent time, more and more people attend universities due to the high request in the workplace to gain a degree. For this reason, some people think that the only purpose of this institution is to give people know-how to practice the chosen job. In contrast, some people are keener to think this higher level of education as an opportunity to solely expand your knowledge. It is true that in the past jobs were learnt on-site and if you progress with your study, they would be more focus on giving you information and skills that help you as a person, more than as a professional. If you think that in many cases a degree was achieved by noble and clerical people, it is easy to see how those were not linked to the ability to practice a job, but more to enrich their culture and help them to formulate and express difficult thought. In today world, things are different. You must demonstrate to be able to do the job or at least grasp the main concept related to it. It is almost unthinkable applying for a job that does not require a degree. To answer to this change, many universities create courses that prepare the student better to start to work right away after the graduation. In this way workplaces can invest less time and money information of the personnel. Another point that justifies this perspective is that there are many jobs that need first-hand practice and updated knowledge in order to execute them. Scientific related work, for example, could not be managed with outdated insight on the subject and in many cases the notions gained during university are not enough to be a real professional. It would be worse if student wouldn’t even achieve that minimal skill set. In conclusion, I agree in saying that universities must give the best skills in order to prepare people to be competitive in the workplace, other institution can provide you the means to expand your knowledge.