Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

As we know that knowledge is power. Generally, it is believed that the educational institutes should include those courses and subjects which are beneficial for the industry. On the other hand, there is also a widely held view that the universities should be teaching in any field of study whether they are useful for the industry or not. In my opinion, I truly believe that institutes should consider the potential need and the requirement of the market while proposing any field of study for two reasons, First, students job security and second to increase literacy rate. To begin with, Universities should start delivering knowledge as per the requirement of the industries, as it would help ease the pathway of employment for new graduates and thus lower the unemployment rate of the country. Furthermore, it will also help to fill the gap between educational institutions and the industries. For example, according to a report in herald, students with the knowledge of industry requirement performs better in their university than those who are unaware of the market needs. On the other hand, when the educational organization put their efforts in knowing the industry need and design their course accordingly, they are truly providing a boost to the literacy rate of any country. Moreover, if everyone find job immediately after graduating from a university, it will not only motivate common people to educate themselves but also improves the literacy rate of the country. For instance, in Canada the literacy rate is 90%, only because they are giving immigration to those people who are well educated and fit for their industry need. To recapitulate, in my opinion, the courses and the subjects of the universities should be designed in such a way that fulfils the need of employer and also help the country to enhance its literacy rate.