Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Skill sets taught in universities should be in accordance with those important to operate in a workplace, say some. Whereas, some think that the courses taught in universities should have nothing to do with the qualities needed for employment. I think that universities should prepare their graduates for future work environments. These days, most employers are reluctant to spend time and money on developing individuals that could possibly benefit the organization. Thus, they prefer to hire people that already have skill sets for the required job. In this type of environment it becomes very important for universities to prepare their students for what the job market demands. Another essential point to consider is that most people join universities because they plan to earn a living in that particular field. What's the point of attending an expensive study programme if it is not going to prepare you for the job you wish to have in the near future? On the other hand, universities were made for the learning and sharing of knowledge. Ancient Greek philosophers opened schools because they wanted to teach people and promote sharing of knowledge. Wanting to join a school so that one could become eligible for a job was never included in the discussion But as the times have changed, so have the needs. People invest money in something because they expect a return on investment. Studying at universities is no exception to this rule In conclusion, with respect to current needs, universities should prepare their graduates for jobs they might aspire to have in the future. Providing and sharing knowledge merely for the sake of it is simply not enough