Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What in your own opinion is the main function of a university?

In recent times, employers of labour have complained that job seekers do not meet their employment requirement. Therefore, some individuals think schools ought to incorporate skill aquisition while impacting knowledge, whereas, some other people affirm that the main function of a higher institution is to teach students irrespective of the usefulness of the course in the labour market. In my opinion, the primary function of a university is to teach students to be useful in their society by furnishing them with both knowledge and handwork. Firstly, universities should equip undergraduates with hands-on experience alongside their studies because it helps them to be able to function effectively in their chosen career. For example, some Nigerian polytechnics' curriculum now involves a year internship programme for everyone, thus, creating a platform of opportunity for the pupils. Hence, this will increase their employability chances. Secondly, for a graduate to be able to work effectively, theoretical knowledge alone is not adequate as it is synonymous to throwing an amateur swimmer into the ocean to start swimming. Therefore, all learning centers should ensure that they include a reasonable period of time for students to learn as it contributes to being confident at work. For instance, the medical curriculum of every college of medicine involves a compolsory one year housemanship. Consequently, most doctors discharge their duties cofidently. In conclusion, the main function of a university is both knowledge and skill aquisition and these should be well taught so as to help graduates secure jobs quickly and enhance their ability to overcome challenges.