In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn.

There are differences of opinion regarding having a salary ceiling among peoples. Some believe there should be some sort of upper limit to how much an individual can earn, while others believe the government should not be deciding on how much someone can earn. This essay will discuss both points of view but in my opinion, there should not be any ceiling attached to someone’s salary as it might demotivate individuals. Firstly, some people believe there should be a ceiling on an individual’s salary. The reason for such a notion can stem from the idea that companies having to pay extreme amounts to some executives end up cutting salaries of the regular blue-collar workers. One example of such behaviour can be seen in the ready-made garments industry where managers and top tier employees take the major chunk of the salaries while the bottom tier workers get very little for themselves. Though this practice is predatory but is prevalent throughout the world in different sectors. Others believe there should not be any ceiling on salary assigned to an individual’s salary and it should be left to be decided based on the skill and talent of the person. If any skilled person is made to earn within a fixed range in his own country, he will eventually start looking for opportunities abroad. An example can be the outflow of Indian engineers from their own country to more developed countries such as the USA because they are being paid more over there. Thus, having a ceiling on someone’s salary also comes with certain risk to an available skilled workforce which a country also needs to flourish. In conclusion, after discussing both points of view, I believe there should not be any ceiling assigned to any bodies salaries by the government. The government should rather assign a minimum base salary to ensure the lower-tier workers are paid a decent sum suitable to sustain their family in the current economic climate while giving more skilled workers opportunities to earn more. This will ensure companies are not exploiting the workers while paying higher salaries to their executives.