Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

It is believed that a university has the role to educate students and prepare them for the future. Each individual allows to pursuit their right to learn several of subjects relying on their goals. However, it is argued that the most important function of a college or university is to prepare learners for the job. In my view, a university should regard people eagerness in term of their future work. That is why the most valuable thing for a university is to create an environment for giving space for learners to develop their skills for their future job. University has to spread awareness that becoming competent in school can affect students’ performance at workplaces. Even though the essential of learning in university is to pass exams, learners should realise that the real exam is after their completion of the study. They will experience how to combat with others for getting a decent job. Therefore, people who prepare earlier will gain more benefits. Based on this case, a university has the responsibility to create competitive circumstance such as in a workplace. Again, preparing students for the future brings some challenges that the university has to accept. Such challenges involved more practical education rather than being confined to theoretical lessons. It is inevitable that practical lessons are more important and effective than the theory we learn in university. Another reason is the best way to develop someone’s skill is by creating space for learners in term of their interest. Nonetheless, this is the main problem that learners face when they enter in higher education - they will lose their passion due to school curriculum which deters them to get involved in further on non-academic activities. As the result, university tends to limit students community to express and show their skill. In conclusion, a university should understand that preparing students for workplaces is an indispensable part in this era. University may start by setting the lecture class such workplace environment for the case and providing beneficial programmes to enhance students’ skill as an individual or group.