Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

The main function of a university is debatable. Some people believe that it is necessarily important for a university to convey knowledge and skills to graduates which are relevant to their work field later. However, others argue that university should give access to knowledge for its own choice without regarding the impact on employer later. Personally, I believe that the essential role of a university is to provide students with basic knowledge and skills for their future career which will be elaborated trough the following paragraphs. To begin with, a university is responsible to share knowledge to graduates which are relevant to the subject and their career later. Students who decide to be nurses and enrol in a nurse academy should be imposed abundant knowledge about nursing. This, somehow, will enhance their insight about nursing and make them understand about disease and proper treatment. For example, providing general knowledge about the rampant virus of Ebola can establish students' idea on how to recognise the symptoms of Ebola and how to ensure the proper treatment of the patients. Furthermore, a university also immensely needs to boost graduates skill that will be matched with their future job. Knowledge must be accomplished by related skills to perform a better action in workplaces. Some universities support their graduates by various skills through various ways. For instance is university internship. A dentist student cannot be a good dentist if he is just supplied by knowledge about dental problems. Yet, he needs to gain skills of how to identify and recovery dental problem through direct practice in the internship. While doing practice, he will receive several skills of how to administer treatment on dental problem supporting his future career after graduation. All in all, basic knowledge and skills should be granted to graduates to support their activity in their workplaces.