Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

Currently, there are huge debates about the main purpose of educational institutions; such as their task should be to prepare students with knowledge and expertise for employer needs or prove graduates with access to the material for their own analysing. This essay will examine both sides of the argument and will highlight the most important task of universities. There is no doubt that graduates must be prepared to go to the work having the knowledge and skills of the field where they plan to start work. These will improve the quality of graduates’ work and give a good impression to the employer. Also, business will be benefitted from their new employees and will allow to an organisation to survive in the rapidly developing business environment. For example, it is highly important to have the necessary knowledge to work as an accountant, otherwise, a person would not know what to do, how to perform the tasks with requirements which later will be checked by auditors. If the work was not done without necessary accuracy, the company will face many problems with the government and tax officers. Therefore, I firmly believe that it is highly important for universities to teach their students the knowledge and skills, which are essential to the business. Despite these arguments, there is also a case for advocating that the main task of universities is to provide an access to the materials and other resources their students for their own learning and analysing. Indeed, I believe the access is extremely important, however, without teaching how appropriate to use these materials most of the students cannot do it in a proper way required by the employer. For instance, there are a lot of different examples of preparing financial statements, the way its look and only expert can say in which particular situations could be prepared, analysed and be used this way of preparation of financial statement or a different one as well as in what kind of area could be used. Having considered both sides of the issue, I would argue that although universities should provide an access to knowledge for their students, educational institutions should teach how to use, learn and analyse them.