Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree.

Firms often ask for minute details about job applicant’s live such as the pastimes of the applicants as well as their marital statuses. This has resulted in a controversy where some people insist that such request for such personal information are necessary and should be encouraged while other people, of which category I belong to, argue that such knowledge about prospective employees should not be available at the firm’s disposal. The reasons for each view will be discussed. There are reasons why some people feel employers should ask for some private information about job seekers. One of such reasons is that they feel the information will help the company to know intoto about any applicant. Companies deserve to know if they are employing maniacs or criminally-inclined people. For example, a man whose extracurricular activity is watching pornography will likely be a danger to female staff in a company. Another reason for people supporting the idea of companies knowing very much about interviewees is that the company needs to know if the job is the best fit for an applicant. A woman who has five children will not be suited for a job which has long night shifts. However, there are reasons why I do not subscribe to asking for personal information of prospective employer. I feel requesting for such personal details will be encroaching too far into their personal lives. The last thing I want is for my boss to know that I play video games. Another reason for my stance on this matter about a company’s knowledge of any job applicant is that such information about a person does not help to know whether one is competent at a job, and as such there is no need for such information. In conclusion, while some argue that a job seeker’s personal information should be submitted to a company when a person applies for a job, I feel that such an action should be discouraged as it is unnecessary.